Posted inRecent Lists Blog / Top Recents Nepal blog

Complete List of Provinces and Districts in Nepal

Proviences and Districts in Nepal

Here is a complete list of the provinces and districts in Nepal after the federal democratic country. This comprehensive list provides brief information about the administrative divisions of Nepal, including the provinces and districts within each province.

Nepal has now 7 provinces and 77 districts which was implemented on September 20, 2015, under the new constitution. The federal democratic constitution structure has been defined as provinces as the first level then districts are the second level of administrative divisions, and then they are again subdivided into municipalities & rural municipalities accordingly.

How many Provinces and Districts are in Nepal?

Altogether, there are 7 provinces that were formed after the adoption of the new Constitution of Nepal in 2015, after the establishment federal system of government in the country.

In the same way, the 75 districts of Nepal have been updated and now Nepal has altogether 77 districts


What is the name of the Provinces and Districts in Nepal?

In Nepal, there are 7 Provinces and these provinces are named after the major rivers that flow through them and are defined by their geographical boundaries, ethnic diversity, and economic potential.  Some of the provinces named are not yet confined. Regarding the Provinces and Districts in Nepal,  The Nepal of provinces are:

List of 7 Provinces in Nepal

  1. Koshi Province

  2. Madhesh Province

  3. Bagmati Province

  4. Gandaki Province

  5. Lumbini Province

  6. Karnali Province

  7. Sudurpashchim Provience


List of Provinces and Districts in Nepal with Area and Capital City

Province Capital Districts Area
Koshi Biratnagar 14 25,905 km2
Madhesh Janakpur 8 9,661 km2
Bagmati Hetauda 13 20,300 km2
Gandaki Pokhara 11 21,504 km2
Lumbini Deukhuri 12 22,288 km2
Karnali Birendranagar 10 27,984 km2
Sudurpashchim Godawari 9 19,915 km2
Nepal Kathmandu 77 147,516 km2


Now let us know the whole list of Provinces and Districts in Nepal in detail

List of Districts in Koshi Province

Nepal Province No. 1 has altogether coprises of 14 districts. These are the names of all the districts in Province No. 1:

  1. Bhojpur

  2. Dhankuta

  3. Ilam

  4. Sankhuwasabha

  5. Panchthar

  6. Solukhumbu

  7. Sunsari

  8. Jhapa

  9. Khotang

  10. Morang

  11. Okhaldhunga

  12. Taplejung

  13. Terhathum

  14. Udayapur

List of Districts in Madhesh Province

Madhesh Province has a total of  8 districts. The complete names of districts in Madhesh Province are as follows:

  1. Bara

  2. Parsa

  3. Rautahat

  4. Saptari

  5. Dhanusa

  6. Mahottari

  7. Sarlahi

  8. Siraha

List of Districts in Bagmati Province:

Bagmati Province is a province situated in the center of the Republic of Nepal. This province has a total number of 13 districts. The capital district of Kathmandu lies on it. The following are the names of districts in Bagmati Province:

  1. Bhaktapur District

  2. Chitwan District

  3. Dhading

  4. Dolakha

  5. Kathmandu

  6. Kavrepalanchok

  7. Lalitpur

  8. Makawanpur

  9. Nuwakot District

  10. Ramechhap

  11. Rasuwa

  12. Sindhuli

  13. Sindhupalchok

List of Districts in Gandaki Province

Gandaki Province has a total number of 11 districts. The following are the names of districts in Gandaki Province:

  1. Baglung

  2. Gorkha

  3. Kaski

  4. Lamjung

  5. Manang

  6. Mustang

  7. Myagdi

  8. Nawalpur

  9. Parbat

  10. Syangja

  11. Tanahu

List of Districts in Lumbini Province

Lumbini Province has a total number of 12 districts. The following are the names of districts in Lumbini Province:

  1. Arghakhanchi

  2. Banke

  3. Bardiya

  4. Dang

  5. Gulmi

  6. Kapilvastu

  7. Parasi

  8. Palpa

  9. Pyuthan

  10. Rolpa

  11. Rukum

  12. Rupandehi

List of Districts in Karnali Province

Karnali Province has a total number of 10 districts. The following are the names of districts in Karnali Province:

  1. Dailekh

  2. Dolpa

  3. Humla

  4. Jajarkot

  5. Jumla

  6. Kalikot

  7. Mugu

  8. Rukum

  9. Salyan

  10. Surkhet

List of Districts in Sudurpaschim Province

Sudurpaschim Province has a total number of 9 districts. The following are the names of districts in Sudurpaschim Province:

  1. Achham

  2. Baitadi

  3. Bajhang

  4. Bajura

  5. Dadeldhura

  6. Darchula

  7. Doti

  8. Kailali

  9. Kanchanpur

List of the capital of Provinces

Capital Province Types of City
Biratnagar Koshi Province Metropolitan city
Janakpur Madhesh Province Sub-metropolitan city
Hetauda Bagmati Province Sub-metropolitan city
Pokhara Gandaki Province Metropolitan city
Deukhuri Lumbini Province Planned city
Birendranagar Karnali Province Municipality
Godawari Sudurpashchim Province Municipality

This list of Provinces and Districts in Nepal is for your knowledge. We will be updating these types of lists and please share your suggestions regarding the post by providing your valuable comment



Top Recents is Regular Blogger with many types of blog with owe own blog as

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *